La Voz students win journalism contests


Current and former La Voz News staff members along with the adviser (right) show off their awards at the Spring National College Media Conference held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in San Francisco on March 11.

Journalism students who produce the La Voz News publication won 22 awards during the Spring National College Media Conference held in San Francisco from March 9 to 11.

La Voz staffers won first, second and third-place awards in 10 contests sponsored by the California College Media Association, and another 12 awards in contests sponsored by the Journalism Association of Community Colleges. These included first-place awards won by Autumn Alvarez, Trevis Dampier and Jocelyn Phanmaha.

In addition, La Voz Managing Editor Andrea Saldana was elected for a one-year term as the Northern California representative to the Journalism Association of Community Colleges.

Three former La Voz students – who are currently attending San José State University – also won awards for their work at the San José State student publication, the Spartan Daily.

Kevin Nguyen, a former La Voz editor-in-chief, a current reporter at the San Francisco Standard, was among the speakers at the event.

La Voz students’ achievements included:

CCMA (10 awards) 

  • Best non-news video, first place, Trevis Dampier.
  • Best infographic, first place, Autumn Alvarez.
  • Best photo illustration, first place, Jocelyn Phanmaha.
  • Best news video, second place, Ryan Delrosario.
  • Best multimedia package, second place, Autumn Alvarez.
  • Best editorial, second place, La Voz editorial board.
  • Best print advertisement, second place, Xinjie Jessie Zhou, Ayah Ali-Ahmad.
  • Best social media reporting, third place, Sabrina Jiang, Xinjie Jessie Zhou, Andrea Saldana.
  • General innovation, third place, Ayah Ali-Ahmad.
  • Best news series, third place, Rory Conlon, Ayah Ali-Ahmad, Andrea Saldana, Cameron Oleary, Michael Davis, Maida Suta.

JACC (12 awards) 

  • Opinion story, first place, Autumn Alvarez.
  • Illustration, first place, Jocelyn Phanmaha.
  • News story, second place, Andrea Saldana.
  • Editorial cartoon, second place, Jocelyn Phanmaha.
  • Illustration, second place, Jocelyn Phanmaha.
  • Feature photo, third place, Amy Huang.
  • Webcast / broadcast news, third place, Rory Conlon.
  • Student designed advertisement, third place, Xinjie Jessie Zhou.
  • Student designed advertisement, fourth place, Xinjie Jessie Zhou.
  • Photo illustration, fourth place, Jocelyn Phanmaha.
  • Profile feature story, honorable mention, Rory Conlon.
  • Editorial cartoon, on-the-spot, fourth place, Georgina Munoz-Villanueva.