Dive into the complex mind of The 1975’s ‘Notes on a Conditional Form’


The 1975, via Matty Healy’s Instagram

Leticia Samame, Reporter

British alternative band The 1975 released their fourth studio album “Notes on a Conditional Form,” or “NOACF,” on May 22.

The band consists of frontman singer and songwriter Matthew (Matty) Healy, lead guitarist Adam Hann, bassist Ross MacDonald and drummer and producer George Daniel.

Similar to their previous album “A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships,” composed of twenty-two tracks, this hour and twenty minute long album continues to explore genre experimentation.

“NOACF” begins with a track very familiar to fans self titled “The 1975.” A song that although appears in each album, is alters in tune but maintains the same lyrics.

The track that is normally no more than a minute and a half long, is almost five minutes long in this album and follows with a speech by teenage climate change activist, Greta Thunberg.

This and their song “People,” are the only political songs on the album.

“People” is the heaviest rock ballad the band has ever released. It wakes you up right from the get-go, as the drumbeat mixes in with the electric guitar and Healy screaming for people to act on the issues facing the world.

The rest of the album returns to a more toned-down atmosphere that is familiar to the band but still explores new sounds throughout the album.

House music is incorporated in the tracks for the first time in “I think there’s something you should know,” “Having No Head” and “Shiny Collarbone,” sounding like they were made for the club scene.

“The End (Music for Cars)” “Streaming”, and “Yeah I know” are completely instrumental, following an ambient, melancholy rhythm and creating a lyric-less buffer in between tracks.

Not known to shy away from religion, or at least Healy’s lack of belief, “Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America” is the band’s latest on the matter.

Healy sarcastically sings his love for Jesus Christ sounding completely legitimate, along with Phoebe Bridgers singing about falling in love with the girl next door in the soft acoustic guitar driven ballad.

“Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America” as well as “Roadkill” are both tracks that tap into another genre influence the band hasn’t done before; folk.

“Bagsy Not in Yet” is also a standout track, as many may recognize the sample used from the beginning of Christopher Cross’ “Sailing” as the main sound played throughout the song.

Additional songs like “Frail State of Mind,” “The Birthday Party,” “Me & You Together Song”, “Nothing Revealed/Everything Denied” and “Tonight (I wish I was your boy),” are very true in nature to the band’s mellow, stripped down synth-pop.

The band finishes off the album with “Guys,” Healy’s love letter to his fellow bandmates and best friends that have been by his side for 13 years.

One thing that’s for sure about The 1975, they, especially Healy, write with a lot of emotion.

After going to rehab to treat his heroin usage, there has been a shift in Healy’s writing, creating a much more personal and existential message through his songs.

“NOACF” is a continuation of inner monologue and sound exploration, The 1975 continue to progress with predictions becoming harder as they have proven how far a band can grow with time and experience.

3.8 out of 5