The voice of De Anza since 1967.

La Voz News

The voice of De Anza since 1967.

La Voz News

The voice of De Anza since 1967.

La Voz News

Scholar Athlete recognition

JOINING THE WINNING TEAMS – Student athletes and coaches get together at the Scholar Recognition Ceremony in Conference Room A on May 22.

De Anza college student athletes were honored at the seventh annual De Anza College Student-Athlete Recognition Ceremony.

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year is Casey Showalter of the softball team.Male Scholar Athlete of the Year  is Rayshone Fu of the swimming and diving team.

Runner ups are: Melody Kuo of the badminton team and Bryce Nelson of the soccer team. 

Other awards were presented in alphabetical order, from badminton to water polo, as  coaches went to the front of the room to present them with their certificates, after telling the audience a little bit about the athletes themselves.

Story continues below advertisement

“It’s to honor our scholar athletes throughout the year and those are sophomores, student athletes that have a 3.0 or higher, overall grade point average,” said Matt Trosper, academic advisor for the student athletes, regarding the ceremony, “the runner-ups get a $750 scholarship each, and the winners get a 1000 dollar scholarship each.” 

President of De Anza Brian Murphy also attended to congratulate the students. 



Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

La Voz Weekly intends this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments should be respectful and constructive. We do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks or language that might be interpreted as defamatory. La Voz does not allow anonymous comments, and requires a valid name and email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comment.
All La Voz News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest